The villa was first discovered in 1727
but after careful recording of the amazing “Orpheus” mosaic (perhaps the finest in Britain), the site was covered over, and thought to be lost.
The villa was re-discovered in 1976
and the then owner of Littlecote House, Sir (David) Seton Wills, founded a long-term research project. The whole site was painstakingly restored over a 13-year period completed in 1991.
The villa is large, with four ranges of buildings set around a central courtyard enclosing one hectare.
Around 360 AD
Having developed for 300 years to become a large farming community supplying the whole local area, the villa changed to become a religious centre dedicated to the Orphic cult.
The unique story is revealed as you tour the site. Don’t miss the fabulous Orpheus mosaic.
In the 30 years after 1991 nature began to reclaim the site, with the exposed walls becoming covered by moss, grass and weeds.
In 2018 a volunteer group set about the task of restoring the site to its 1991 condition.
There are new information panels, and an accompanying audio guide that can be accessed by QR code on site.